ISSN (Print) - 0012-9976 | ISSN (Online) - 2349-8846

A+| A| A-

The ‘Quad’ Again

In the name of a “rules-based order,” Australia, India, and Japan support US dominance of the Asia–Pacific region.


On the sidelines of the East Asia Summit in Manila in mid-November, Australia, India, Japan, and the United States (US) held a high-level official meeting, at which they pledged to ensure that China, whom they chose not to name, is made to “uphold” the “rules-based order in the Indo–Pacific and respect for international law, freedom of navigation and over-flight.” Moreover, according to the Australian foreign ministry, the four countries promised to uphold “maritime security in the Indo-Pacific,” and even “address threats,” including North Korea’s “nuclear and missile programs.”

Colloquially called the “Quad,” this group of four claims that it is founded on “respect for international law and the rules-based order,” never mind that in practice Washington does not care about such judicial niceties. Plainly speaking, Washington has been indifferent to the International Criminal Court; the US takes it for granted that it can militarily intervene in any country or region without authorisation by the United Nations (UN); Washington even orders the assassination of those it deems “terrorist” by missiles remotely fired from drones, in the process killing many civilians, and it dismisses the latter as mere “collateral damage.” Should the citizens of India, Australia, and Japan allow their respective governments to agree to become “client states” of such a lawless and violent imperialist power?

Dear Reader,

To continue reading, become a subscriber.

Explore our attractive subscription offers.

Click here


To gain instant access to this article (download).

Pay INR 50.00

(Readers in India)

Pay $ 6.00

(Readers outside India)

Updated On : 10th Mar, 2021
Back to Top