ISSN (Print) - 0012-9976 | ISSN (Online) - 2349-8846

A+| A| A-

Handbook on North-East Hill Politics

'Handbook' on North-East Hill Politics THE five states of Assam, Meghalaya, Nagaland, Tripura and Manipur, along with the two Union Territories of Mizoram and Arunachal Pradesh, make up the mosaic of the North-East. These are sensitive regions, with complex socio-political problems which have defied New Delhi's attempted solutions. With the new territorial delineation of Assam, the Assamese and the plains tribes such as the Mikirs, Miris, Garos, etc, have been left in the state of Assam; the Khasi, Jaintia, and Garo Hills form Meghalaya; and the Naga- inhabited areas form Nagaland. Manipur has the Meiteis (plainsmen) as well as the Nagas, Kukis, Lushais, Mundas, and Garos. The two Union Territories are inhabited predominantly by tribals: the Lushais live in Mizoram, whereas the Monpas, Daflas, Apatanis, Abors (or Adis), Mishmis, Wanchos, Noctes, and an assortment of smaller tribes live in Arunachal.

To read the full text Login

Get instant access

New 3 Month Subscription
to Digital Archives at

₹826for India

$50for overseas users


(-) Hide

EPW looks forward to your comments. Please note that comments are moderated as per our comments policy. They may take some time to appear. A comment, if suitable, may be selected for publication in the Letters pages of EPW.

Back to Top