ISSN (Print) - 0012-9976 | ISSN (Online) - 2349-8846

A+| A| A-

One-way Non-Proliferation

January 27, 1968 maining 14 seats on the Working Committee. He is no Jawaharlal Nehru who could, as president after the 1936 Lucknow Congress, nominate persons like Jayaprakash Narayan, Achyut Patwardhan and Acharya Narendra Dev who, though all popular young leaders, had not the support of the party bosses. Nijalingappa willingly accepted the constraints on his freedom to exercise his powers as president; in return, and by virtue of his position as a State boss himself, he was able to get one of his men from Mysore into the Working Committee and as one of the secretaries. Minor adjustments were, of course, made. Atulya Ghosh stepped down as treasurer, to be replaced by S K Patil; a relatively unknown Congressman from UP was brought in at thv Prime Minister's behest even though the choice may not have been entirely to the liking of C B Gupta, the UP boss. In all this horse-trading there was no echo of the stirring call of the Hyderabad resolution for reshaping and streamlining the party organisation or for placing the accent on "creative thinking and innovation" and on attracting the younger generation and the intelligentsia in greater numbers.

Dear Reader,

To continue reading, become a subscriber.

Explore our attractive subscription offers.

Click here

Back to Top